Healthy Snack Time – Spicy Black Bean Sundried Tomato Basil Hummus

Whew just reading that title makes me salivate! I don’t usually measure anything out when I’m cooking so here are ballpark estimations.  Also, when I make anything I typically peruse the web a take tips from multiple sites.  I then pick and choose to add ingredients that I prefer over some that I don’t typically enjoy or have in stock! I encourage you to find what works for you – and have fun!  ( I also play music relatively loudly while I prepare anything in the kitchen – but that is most likely due to the fact that I was raised by a musician)

All of the ingredients were procured at either a local farmers market (in Madison, WI there is a ‘winter’ farmers market on Saturdays at the Senior Center next to Capitol Foods on W Mifflin St) or at Willie Street Co-Op (again in Madison, WI Willie co-op is a grocery store specializing in locally made, natural and organic foods)

1 cup Garbanzo Beans

1 cup Black Beans (Black beans are more nutritious and a fraction of the fat content than Garbanzo)

Basil

1/2 cup Sundried Tomatoes (typically come soaked in olive oil and thus I reduced the amount of olive oil added)

4 large fresh Basil Leaves

1/4 cup Whole Roasted Tomatoes ( I bought this can from Tomato Mountain Farm tomatomoutain.com – this guy knows his tomatoes!)

a large pinch (maybe 1 tablespoon) of Spicy Sprouts (I highly recommend Meg’s Spicy Mix grown at Troy Community Farm again in Madison, WI)

a large pinch (again 1 tablespoon roughly) of bean sprouts

Spicy Sprouts

1/4 cup artichoke hearts

4 garlic cloves – I like garlic and I’m sure 1 clove would do the trick

2 small dried red chili peppers

1 teaspoon of Olive Oil – just to taste

a pinch of Himalayan Rock Salt (any salt would do it just so happens I have an uncle who is a salt snob!)

I mixed the ingredients in a food processor (I think it helps to mix everything but the garbanzo and black beans and then add the bulk beans!) This makes a lot of hummus so I recommend sharing with neighbors, co-workers, and maybe even giving some portion away!

I just want to note that hummus does not need tahini to taste fantastic – typically tahini has 19g of fat in just 2 tablespoons (yikes!) – so this is a healthy hummus recipe – Enjoy!

One thought on “Healthy Snack Time – Spicy Black Bean Sundried Tomato Basil Hummus

  1. I think it’s important that you know that your Uncle Peet knew nothing about Himalayan Salt until I introduced it to him. At first he totally made fun of me and phew- faahed the product – now he is giving it for Christmas gifts ( as you know). I guess I wanted you to be aware of the truth in this situation.

Leave a Reply

